The Careful Perusal of the Unusual by Bohuslav the Great (Traveling Sideshow Master and Dermatology Enthusiast)

Just another WordPress.com weblog

  • Categories

  • Archives

A day without sunshine, or, The sufferings of contact dermatitis

Posted by bohuslav on May 8, 2008

Alas, it’s been three months now and my damned contact dermatitis has yet to be alleviated. I asked my best friend, Gary the Contortionist, to look at it, as he is a fellow dermatology enthusiast and has received numerous allergic reactions from climbing into ill-washed jars. But he does not know what may be causing it.

And so, since we are in the midst of a rainy bit here in the cornfields of Iowa before our next show, I parked the van outside the nearest Starbucks and mooched Internet signal, looking for a solution to the utter devastation of the blistery patch above my right eyebrow. According to WebMD, it is of the irritant variety, which means I probably am in contact with a chemical that I am mildly allergic to–perhaps the miraculous hair-thickening elixir I’ve been using of late. I now have a head of hair enviable to DogMan, but if it means I have to deal with this itchy rash, I must stop.

Sad news, indeed, but I did find some absolutely fascinating photos of contact dermatitis on the Internet before a 17-year-old barista made me leave the Starbucks parking lot.

Leave a comment